The Bold, the Young, and the Murdered: Cast Interview Part II

Written by: Vivien Tang

Edited by: Sarah Cheng

And we are back to boost your anticipation for our hall’s upcoming play, The Bold, The Young and The Murdered with more cast interviews! Our hall play is taking place at UCC Theatre on the 23rd and 24th of January (Friday and Saturday) at 7pm sharp, so if you haven’t purchased your tickets yet, do get them soon and expect an amazing show by a hilarious and talented team of KEVIIans!

 

Adila as Keri, the intern

Showing off her innocent charm... or is she?

Showing off her innocent charm… or is she?

 

Why did you audition for hall play?

I’ve had experience in theatre before JC, and I decided to pick it up again in KE.

Was Keri the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I actually did a general line-reading during the audition and got assigned the role of Keri after that. I’m similar to Keri because I can be annoying at times, but I’m different from her because *SPOILERS*, and I don’t bother people as much as her.

If you’re curious about the spoiler, be sure to witness it for yourself at UCC Theatre!

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Sequoiya, because she’s a fun character with no boundaries, and you can basically act as crazy as you want.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in OCIP Laos, touch rugby, KEPress and SMC. So far my CCAs are quite manageable, and they’re fun (especially touch rugby!).

Hall play is ____________

Wacky. (And we have a similar description!)

 

Zest as Danielle Farris/ Jessica Silverstedt

Why haven't you purchased your hall play tickets yet?

Why haven’t you purchased your  tickets yet?

 

Why did you audition for hall play?

I wanted to try something new, and before university I’ve only been in sports CCAs and council. I tried acting for a bit and thought it was fun, so I thought hall play would be a good way to try it for real.

Was Danielle the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I did audition for Danielle, because she’s a funny character, and she’s spacy and air-headed, which my friends say suits my character. I’m different from Danielle because I’m not dramatic or attention-grabbing like her, but we’re similar because I can be quite blur sometimes, and cheerful like Danielle.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Keri. She’s a weird character, and you get to try a lot of things when you play Keri.

And it seems Keri is a role that is VERY high in demand.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in KEAngels. Hall life isn’t too busy for me, only for hall play, and I guess it’s a taste of how hall life is supposed to be.

Hall play is ____________

Different-and-really-something-I-would-never-regret. (We shall make an exception here for the use of hyphens)

 

Alvin as Bill Wiley/ Sebastian Strong

Dashing and charming - but what happens when the shades come off?

Dashing and charming – but what happens when the shades come off?

Why did you audition for hall play?

I auditioned for hall play last year and it was really fun so I wanted to experience it again. Last year was my first experience acting. It was weird at first but after more rehearsals I slowly got the hang of it.

Alvin played Vinny in last year’s production, The Odd Couple.

Was Bill the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I did a general line-read and got casted as Bill. I’m not really similar to Bill because he’s a player and a giant flirt, and I’m not like that at all.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Morris, because I can relate to his self-esteem issues. But honestly there are a lot of other characters I’d like to try out too.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in Cheer and dance. So far hall life isn’t too busy, and it’s been pretty good.

Hall play is ____________

Fun-xciting!

 

Ethanyn as Lily Baumgartner/ Sequoiya

Wild and carefree is the way to go!

Wild and carefree is the way to go!

 

Why did you audition for hall play?

I was involved in it last year, and it was a pretty fun experience. I don’t really have any experience in acting apart from last year, but I used to imitate things with friends to entertain each other, and I found the acting part quite fun, because you can be anything you want to be when you’re acting.

Ethanyn acted as Gwendolyn Pigeon in last year’s hall play.

Was Lily the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I tried almost all the female characters, and in the end after being shuffled around between three characters – Keri, Oli and Lily – I was assigned the role of Lily. I hope I’m not anything like my character, because between her two personalities, Lily is a bit creepy and crazy, while Sequoiya seems like she’s a bit high or drunk all the time.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

If I could play a male character I’d choose Bill, because I think it would be quite fun to act as a ladies’ man.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in road relay, dance and band. I’m not so busy this year compared to last year when I overloaded on CCAs.

Hall play is ____________

Indescribable!

 

Liu Yang as Kaitlin, the stage manager

Overworked.... and frustrated?

Overworked…. and frustrated?

Why did you audition for hall play?

I thought it would be fun to try because I’ve never tried English drama before – I’ve always been in Chinese Drama – and I watched the previous 2 hall plays and thought it was really fun.

Was Kaitlin the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I did a general line-read as Kaitlin and Keri, and I was chosen as Kaitlin. I’m less rude than Kaitlin is (but I do shout, like her) but our physicality is quite similar, in that I’m not really a girly person.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would pick Amy or Danielle, as they are very strong characters, and they stand out during the show.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m involved in JCRC and Chinese Drama (as an actress). I’m very busy now because of preparations for both Hallplay and Chinese Drama.

Hall play is ____________

Fun!

 

Eleen as Brooke, the camerawoman

Don't tell me you still haven't bought your tickets?!

Don’t tell me you still haven’t bought your tickets?!

Why did you audition for hall play?

I’ve never done anything like this before, and I wanted the poster for myself. This is my first time acting.

Was Brooke the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I was told to act out a role. I can’t really remember it but the character wasn’t Brooke. I find myself quite similar to Brooke because we’re both quite angst-y.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would stick to my character actually. I do find Valencio quite interesting, because the character is quite funny.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

My only CCA after hall play is dance, so hall life is quite manageable for me. I am involved in events outside of hall though.

Hall play is ____________

Interesting!

 

What are you waiting for? If you’ve always been a fan of drama and theatre, or if you’re just tired and stressed out, drop by UCC Theatre for a show that will blow your mind! See you this Friday and Saturday!

 

Photos courtesy of KE Vision.

 

Like what you see? The Bold, the Young, and the Murdered will be showing at UCC Theatre on the 23rd and 24th of January. Tickets are selling at $16 each. For more information, please follow this link or contact Jia Jin at 9770 6458. What are you waiting for? Grab your tickets now!

Leave a Reply

