The Bold, the Young, and the Murdered: Cast Interview Part I

Written by: Vivien Tang

Edited by: Sarah Cheng

The Bold, the Young and the Murdered. Pretty macabre for a title, right? Don’t be too quick to judge a title, though! The Bold, the Young, and the Murdered is pure hilarity, gracing the stage on the 23rd and 24th of January at UCC Theatre under the direction of Shawn Tan and his amazingly-talented cast members. I found myself laughing along as the cast members fulfilled – even surpassed – my imagination, turning words on pieces of paper into a living, breathing spectacle. And so, it is only apt to get to know the people who are poised to entertain us – and who are more than deserving of their fellow hall members’ support. This article would not have been possible without 5-minute-rehearsal-break-interviews and pre-rehearsal script-reading-breaks, because that is how hard our cast members are rehearsing to put on a marvellous show.

Sue Hwee as Miles, the producer

Sue Hwee as Miles, the producer

Fabulous and sassy. Enough said.

Why did you audition for hall play?

I believe university is all about new experiences, and I’ve never done anything like hall play before, so I thought it’d be fun to try. Also, a lot of people tell me I’m very dramatic in life so hall play seems a befitting thing to try out. This is my first time acting in a play though I’ve had stage experience.

Was Miles the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I auditioned for Miles because the character seemed quite cool. Miles is quite similar to me in reality as well, and I thought it would be easier as a first-time role.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would play Cybil, because she can be crazy and talks about anything, so it’d be a fun character to play. John would be good too, because old characters are always fun and challenging to play at the same time. Plus, his lines are quite funny.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in tennis, handball and E block comm. So far the activity conflicts are still manageable, but I do occasionally get busy during competition and event periods. I think it’s super fun to be in hall and participate in CCAs with my friends, and the best part about staying in hall is how near it is to school! I can always come back and sleep, ahem, “between” lessons.

Hall play is ____________

Hilarious!

Joshua as Oli, the director

Joshua as Oli, the director

Tired and thoughtful – it’s all in the face.

Why did you audition for hall play?

I’ve been in performing arts – choir – for six years but I’ve never tried acting, so I wanted to try something new this year.

Was Oli the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I did both Oli and Bill for the auditions, and then I got a text saying I was going to play Oli. I think I’m a bit similar to Oli in terms of personality i.e. he snaps at people with a bit of dramatic flair, but in the play it is a much more amplified version of how I’m like in real life. We have a similar passion but I’m definitely not unstable or dramatic like Oli and I’m glad about that.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Morris because his character is very dynamic. He can be insecure at times but he can step up and he can do things properly when people start doing stupid things, and his character comes back to life.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in swimming, green team, KE Angels and CMB.

I understand you’re in DnD pageant. Tell us a bit more about how you came to join pageant.

I was asked to join straight after the hall play photo shoot, when I was tired and not really thinking straight at 12.30am *laughs*. I was a bit unsure at first but so far everything’s quite okay after the first photo shoot. I can get a bit busy at times with my CCAs though.

Hall play is ____________

Fantabulous!

Abirami as Amy White/Eileen Silverstedt

Abirami as Amy White/ Eileen Silverstedt

Looking happy with a smile – but there’s more to her character than meets the eye.

Why did you audition for hall play?

I’ve been interested in drama since I was young, and I’ve been involved in drama since primary school.

Was Amy the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

Yes, I auditioned for Amy and I found her personality quite similar to mine in that she’s very sarcastic, like me. A major difference would be that she’s very wild as a character, so sometimes it’s a bit difficult for me to say certain lines during the play.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would play Keri. She’s an interesting character because she explores many different characters on stage, and I think that’s an exciting thing for actors to try. I think the good thing about this play is that most of us are playing dual personalities. Keri plays multiple personalities – which is interesting but quite tiring.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

No, I’m not in any other CCAs.

Hall play is ____________

Fulfilling!

 

Sharon as Cybil Dane/ Mona Jeffries

Sharon as Cybil Dane/ Mona Jeffries

Makeup can make you look old – but good acting is needed for a natural vibe.

Why did you audition for hall play?

Hall points aside *sshhhh*, I auditioned because my friend Sue – acting as Miles – was auditioning, so I thought I’d try it out and see how it goes. It’s been quite fun so far, and as I’ve never done theatre or anything similar before it’s definitely a new experience (and a good one!).

Was Cybil the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I started off by picking a scene that I was comfortable with doing, and I acted as Danielle. Then I played a game with Sue and somehow I could do the old lady voice, so I ended up as Cybil. I would say she’s quite different to me – especially the age gap – but I wouldn’t say it’s hard to play Cybil. I do have to remind myself to keep in character, because her actions are not natural to what I would normally do.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I wouldn’t choose another character because everyone is quite suited to their roles. But if no actors have been casted yet I’d like to play Keri. She’s quite a psychotic character and would be a fun role to play.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I joined DnD, handball and floorball. My schedule is getting packed now because of IHG and hall play rehearsal, but other than that it’s usually quite manageable.

Hall play is ____________

Eccentric!

Bao Xiao as Tyler Tripodo/ Doctor William Bradley

Bao Xiao as Tyler Tripodo/ Doctor William Bradley

Now why does this doctor have an evil smirk on his face…?

Why did you audition for hall play?

I like stage performances, and I enjoy being able to participate in productions. I’ve had experience in high school, and I also joined hall play during my 1st year in KEVII. I did audition last year but there weren’t any suitable roles in the play.

Was Tyler the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

At first I didn’t know about Tyler’s character, because he appeared at a slightly later stage in the play – and we did line reads from the first few pages of the script. Tyler is a bit different from my character but I enjoy playing him. He’s similar to me in the sense that he is very open with his opinions – sometimes even offensive – and he’s confident (though he may be over-confident at times).

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would play Keri if she was a male character. I think it would be very fun to play a character with multiple personalities.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in GH block comm, Xin Yao and KEPress. I find my activities quite manageable because I enjoy doing them, so it doesn’t fell very busy at all.

Hall play is ____________

Relaxing! But it’s hard to describe it in one word – I just don’t feel tired even when I’m rehearsing after work; it’s like a way for me to take a break.

 

Russell as John Burke/ Valencio di Carpathio

Russell as John Burke/ Valencio di Carpathio

Would you take his lead into the unknown world of di Carpathio?

Why did you audition for hall play?

I wanted to try something I’ve never tried before – I’ve always been in sports during high school – and I’ve never been on a theatre production. Also, the script seemed quite interesting and my friends always tell me that I have a prominent joker image.

Was John the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I auditioned for both John and Morris, but I probably got John because I can speak with a weird European accent. I definitely hope I’m not similar to John in terms of age, but some days I do feel like John, being disillusioned with stuff and life in general.

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Bill or Morris – the former, because he is loud and flamboyant, which matches my personality and the latter, because he is the complete opposite, and it’d be fun to try the character out.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in CMB, Cheer and KEBand. All my previous CCAs before university were sports, so I wanted to try something new i.e. cultural activities. I would have more free time if I had no CCAs, but my life is definitely more colourful and interesting after knowing different people from my CCAs.

Hall play is ____________

Colourful!

 

Simon as Morris Nyborg/ Jake Strong

Simon as Morris Nyborg/ Jake Strong

Strength shines through this picture – true to his character’s name.

Why did you audition for hall play?

I’ve always had lots of interest in drama, and I also have experience, so I decided to make use of one of my skills.

Was Morris the character you had in mind when you auditioned? How similar or different are you from your character in the play?

I was actually assigned the character during the audition, and I felt comfortable portraying the character. I’m similar to Morris in the sense that he has a lot of insecurities but is capable of overcoming them during times of need, but we’re different because 1. I’m not a soap opera actor and 2. He seems to be past his prime (while I am too young for that).

If you could choose a character other than your own to play, who would you be and why?

I would choose Oli, because he’s a fun character who cannot control his temper, is easily irritable but very expressive.

Hall life = hall play + __________?

I’m in swimming and CMB. I’m dying because of IHG and hall play at the same time, and I’m also busy from running a band outside of NUS. Hall life is fun and challenging at the same time, but it’s an entertaining challenge.

Hall play is ____________

Wacky!

And that wraps up Part I of our conversation with this year’s Hallplay cast members. Be sure to catch Part II of the interview (and remember to support this year’s play with your presence!).

Photos courtesy of KE Vision.

Like what you see? The Bold, the Young, and the Murdered will be showing at UCC Theatre on the 23rd and 24th of January. Tickets are selling at $16 each. For more information, please follow this link or contact Jia Jin at 9770 6458. What are you waiting for? Grab your tickets now!

Leave a Reply

